The island of Kefalonia is said to be named after King Kefalos, who was the 1st King of the area back in the Palaeolithic era. According to the locals, he founded the four main cities of the island which were Sami, Pahli, Krani and Pronnoi, and named them after his sons, which explains why the island was called Tetrapolis (Four Towns) during this period. Those four cities were completely independent with their own regimes and currency.
Over the years Kefalonia has been ruled by a number of different regimes, most notably the Romans, Venetians, the Ottoman Empire, the French and the English.
During the English period various important constructions of public interest were
built including the British Cemetery, the De Bosset (Drapano) bridge in Argostoli,
the Lighthouse of Saint Theodori (Fanari) and the impressive Municipal Theatre of
Kefalonia was finally united to the rest of independent Greece in 1864, the same time as the rest of the Ionian Islands.
During World War II the island was occupied by the Axis powers, around 12,000 Italians and 2,000 Germans. After the armistice with Italy the Germans took full control of the island and executed over 5000 Italian soldiers just outside Argostoli. There is a memorial on the hillside close to the field where they were killed, commemorating the loss.
Although World War II ended in 1945 in central Europe, there was still conflict on Kefalonia due to the Greek Civil War which ended in 1949.
Located in the picturesque village of Katsarata near Fiskardo, Villa Evanthia is
a new three-